Top 5 (covers of 2022) Tuesday

I FORCED myself to keep to 5 books! And I’ve read three books on here (two of them have actual reviews! I’m getting somewhere! Albeit very slowly 😄. Anyway! Let’s carry on to see which 2022 releases’ covers I really enjoyed!

Once again, ever so thankful to Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads for giving these prompts! I think December prompts are nice to do because they’re usually the wrap-up kind and I do like that!

📚 🚀 📚

Last of the Talons - Sophie KimLast of the Talons by Sophie Kim (GR/SG/My Review) – I really enjoyed reading this! It was fun and immersive and included a couple I can’t wait to see more of! The cover is simply gorgeous – I love the brightness of the colours and how well they match each other splendidly.

Last of the Talons is a stunning blend of dark romance and Korean mythology. Sophie Kim writes enemies to lovers with heart-pounding intensity, blurring the line between love and hate. Bloodthirsty, addictive, and searingly romantic.” —Axie Oh, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

After the destruction of her entire Talon gang, eighteen-year-old Shin Lina—the Reaper of Sunpo—is forced to become a living, breathing weapon for the kingdom’s most-feared crime lord. All that keeps her from turning on her ruthless master is the life of her beloved little sister hanging in the balance. But the order to steal a priceless tapestry from a Dokkaebi temple incites not only the wrath of a legendary immortal, but the beginning of an unwinnable game…

Suddenly Lina find herself in the dreamlike realm of the Dokkaebi, her fate in the hands of its cruel and captivating emperor. But she can win her life—if she kills him first.

Now a terrible game of life and death has begun, and even Lina’s swift, precise blade is no match for the magnetic Haneul Rui. Lina will have to use every weapon in her arsenal if she wants to outplay this cunning king and save her sister…all before the final grain of sand leaks out of the hourglass.

Because one way or another, she’ll take Rui’s heart.

Even if it means giving up her own. 

Reforged - Seth HaddonReforged by Seth Haddon (GR/SG/My Review) – I’m still thinking about this bodyguard romance book. I will probably still be thinking about it next year and this time next year because it’s just so so good. And the cover is just too stunning.

Since time immemorial the warriors of the Paladin Order have harnessed arcane powers to protect their rulers. For Balen, who has given up his chance at love and fought his way to the top of the Paladin Order, there can be no greater honor than to serve his king. But when assassins annihilate the royal family, Balen suddenly finds himself sworn to serve the very man he abandoned.

Now with their nation threatened by enemies both within and outside the kingdom, Balen must fight hidden traitors and unnatural assassins, while also contending with the biting wit and dangerous charm of young King Zavrius. To save themselves and their nation they will have to put aside their past and reforge that trust they lost so long ago.

One for All - Lillie KOne for All by Lillie Lainoff (GR/SG) – I am very much hoping to get this read before the end of this year. It’s one of my most anticipated reads for this year so I definitely want to get to this before the end of the year.

An OwnVoices, gender-bent retelling of The Three Musketeers, in which a girl with a chronic illness trains as a Musketeer and uncovers secrets, sisterhood, and self-love.

Tania de Batz is most herself with a sword in her hand. Everyone in town thinks her near-constant dizziness makes her weak, nothing but “a sick girl”; even her mother is desperate to marry her off for security. But Tania wants to be strong, independent, a fencer like her father—a former Musketeer and her greatest champion.

Then Papa is brutally, mysteriously murdered. His dying wish? For Tania to attend finishing school. But L’Académie des Mariées, Tania realizes, is no finishing school. It’s a secret training ground for a new kind of Musketeer: women who are socialites on the surface, but strap daggers under their skirts, seduce men into giving up dangerous secrets, and protect France from downfall. And they don’t shy away from a swordfight.

With her newfound sisters at her side, Tania feels for the first time like she has a purpose, like she belongs. But then she meets Étienne, her first target in uncovering a potential assassination plot. He’s kind, charming, and breathlessly attractive—and he might have information about what really happened to her father. Torn between duty and dizzying emotion, Tania will have to lean on her friends, listen to her own body, and decide where her loyalties lie…or risk losing everything she’s ever wanted.

This debut novel is a fierce, whirlwind adventure about the depth of found family, the strength that goes beyond the body, and the determination it takes to fight for what you love.

Yesterday Crumb and the Storm in a Teacup by Andy Sagar (GR/SG) – This is such a sweet book and I can’t wait to read the second one!

Yesterday Crumb is no ordinary girl. She was born with fox ears that have cursed her to a lonely life working in the circus and her origins are a complete mystery. But she is about to escape into the adventure of a lifetime when she learns that she’s a strangeling who’s lost her magic.

Taken in by Miss Dumpling the flamboyant tea witch, Yesterday is introduced to a magical, walking teashop filled with fantastical customers, a flying teapot turtle called Pascal and powerful spells in every teacup!

Yesterday starts to rediscover her magic and to feel a sense of belonging. But a mysterious figure of darkness is working hard to ensure her new life comes crashing down – and it all starts with a deadly shard of ice in Yesterday’s heart…

But there’s nothing that can’t be solved with a pot of tea, a slice of cake and a BIG dash of magic!

The first in a new fantasy series for readers aged 8-12, about a girl with fox ears who has never fitted in. With adventure and magic in every teacup, this is perfect for fans of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency and Starfell.

Lakelore by Anna-Marie McLemore (GR/SG) – I’ve only read one of their books but I’ve seen like all the covers so I know that when I see their name I know to expect an absolutely gorgeous cover and this is definitely the case.

In this young adult novel by award-winning author Anna-Marie McLemore, two non-binary teens are pulled into a magical world under a lake – but can they keep their worlds above water intact?

Everyone who lives near the lake knows the stories about the world underneath it, an ethereal landscape rumored to be half-air, half-water. But Bastián Silvano and Lore Garcia are the only ones who’ve been there. Bastián grew up both above the lake and in the otherworldly space beneath it. Lore’s only seen the world under the lake once, but that one encounter changed their life and their fate.

Then the lines between air and water begin to blur. The world under the lake drifts above the surface. If Bastián and Lore don’t want it bringing their secrets to the surface with it, they have to stop it, and to do that, they have to work together. There’s just one problem: Bastián and Lore haven’t spoken in seven years, and working together means trusting each other with the very things they’re trying to hide.

📚 🚀 📚

I look at book covers so many times and I love all the illustrated people covers we have now. Real people covers are still great but I think I do prefer illustrated people covers a tad bit more. So he the are! Any books out this year that you can’t stop looking at? Tell me down below! Maybe I also really loved it but it just didn’t make the cut!

Advertisement

8 thoughts on “Top 5 (covers of 2022) Tuesday”

    1. AHH you’ve gotta read it!! I don’t have access to it now (I read it when I was in Melbourne earlier and none of my libraries I have on Libby has it – so we can’t buddy read whenever). It’s so so cute!

      Oh I missed basically all of November because I was so focused on Nano (failed but just writing was very good!). I did want to mass post the Nov t5t posts but I just decided to leave it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No I’ve got about a dozen or so books to finish and attempt to write a whole bunch before the end of the year. Not to mention other family stuff AND having no loadshedding for up to 10 hours a day (not in a row, here and there).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s