Top 5 (books with buildings or vehicles on the cover) Tuesday

This was a fun one to do! A lot of the times I thought I could use a title and it was mostly a person on the cover. There are so many of those! But that’s next week. As usual, GR is Goodreads and SG is The Storygraph. The synopses are taken from Goodreads.

Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads is now in charge of all of this and you should definitely go look at all the books she mentioned!

📚🚀📚

Wranglestone by Darren Charlton (GR/SG) –

Blurb: Winter was the only season every Lake-Lander feared…
In a post-apocalyptic America, a community survives in a national park, surrounded by water that keeps the Dead at bay. But when winter comes, there’s nothing to stop them from crossing the ice.
Then homebody Peter puts the camp in danger by naively allowing a stranger to come ashore and he’s forced to leave the community of Wranglestone. Now he must help rancher Cooper, the boy he’s always watched from afar, herd the Dead from their shores before the lake freezes over.
But as love blossoms, a dark discovery reveals the sanctuary’s secret past. One that forces the pair to question everything they’ve ever known.
An action-packed and thought-provoking debut, for fans of Patrick Ness, Marcus Sedgwick, DREAD NATION and The Walking Dead.
 

Another case of have the arc, just need to read it. But I do sort of know what this is about and… that’s zombies. So I am very much in 😂

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin (GR/SG) – 

Blurb: Five New Yorkers must come together in order to defend their city.
Every city has a soul. Some are as ancient as myths, and others are as new and destructive as children. New York City? She’s got five.
But every city also has a dark side. A roiling, ancient evil stirs beneath the earth, threatening to destroy the city and her five protectors unless they can come together and stop it once and for all.

I know Jemisin is really popular for The Broken Earth trilogy and I know a lot of people really like this book too. I do like the idea of characters coming together and having to work together, because usually they all have different personalities and learn to work well together.

The Project by Courtney Summers (GR/SG) –

Blurb: Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After her parents died in a tragic car accident, her sister Bea joined the elusive community called The Unity Project, leaving Lo to fend for herself. Desperate not to lose the only family she has left, Lo has spent the last six years trying to reconnect with Bea, only to be met with radio silence.
When Lo’s given the perfect opportunity to gain access to Bea’s reclusive life, she thinks they’re finally going to be reunited. But it’s difficult to find someone who doesn’t want to be found, and as Lo delves deeper into The Project and its charismatic leader, she begins to realize that there’s more at risk than just her relationship with Bea: her very life might be in danger.
As she uncovers more questions than answers at each turn, everything Lo thought she knew about herself, her sister, and the world is upended. One thing doesn’t change, though, and that’s what keeps her going: Bea needs her, and Lo will do anything to save her.
From Courtney Summers, the New York Times bestselling author of the 2019 Edgar Award Winner and breakout hit Sadie, comes her electrifying follow-up—a suspenseful, pulls-no-punches story about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister no matter the cost.
 

Let’s ping this as another arc I have that I need to read… I know this is a really, really hyped book and I’ve got my eye on another of Summers’ books – Sadie. So soon, I’ll pick this up because this has cults in it and they really interest me a lot.

The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S. (as told to his brother) by David Levithan (GR/SG) – 

Blurb: New York Times bestselling author David Levithan takes young readers on a twisting journey through truth, reality, and fantasy and belief.
Aidan disappeared for six days. Six agonizing days of searches and police and questions and constant vigils. Then, just as suddenly as he vanished, Aidan reappears. Where has he been? The story he tells is simply. . . impossible. But it’s the story Aidan is sticking to.
His brother, Lucas, wants to believe him. But Lucas is aware of what other people, including their parents, are saying: that Aidan is making it all up to disguise the fact that he ran away.
When the kids in school hear Aidan’s story, they taunt him. But still Aidan clings to his story. And as he becomes more of an outcast, Lucas becomes more and more concerned. Being on Aidan’s side would mean believing in the impossible. But how can you believe in the impossible when everything and everybody is telling you not to?
 

I really love the cover. It has a bit of fantasy and it’s a mystery and maybe, hopefully a bit of a sibling relationship? Really hoping for that because I do love sibling relationships – especially if they’re done right.

The Silvered Serpents by Roshani Chokshi (GR/SG) My Review – Spoilers for the first book if you haven’t read it yet. 

Blurb: They are each other’s fiercest love, greatest danger, and only hope.
Séverin and his team members might have successfully thwarted the Fallen House, but victory came at a terrible cost — one that still haunts all of them. Desperate to make amends, Séverin pursues a dangerous lead to find a long lost artifact rumoured to grant its possessor the power of God.
Their hunt lures them far from Paris, and into the icy heart of Russia where crystalline ice animals stalk forgotten mansions, broken goddesses carry deadly secrets, and a string of unsolved murders makes the crew question whether an ancient myth is a myth after all.
As hidden secrets come to the light and the ghosts of the past catch up to them, the crew will discover new dimensions of themselves. But what they find out may lead them down paths they never imagined.
A tale of love and betrayal as the crew risks their lives for one last job.

I love love loved this book so much so I’m excited that it has a sequel with a building on the cover 😄 And it has a fantastic plot and a great ensemble inside. Am I convincing myself to reread this series? Absolutely 😄 

 

📚🚀📚

I did not actually include a book with a vehicle on the cover 😂 I think a lot of the books with vehicles I looked at also heavily feature a person 😄 But that’s all okay. No harm done. What did you think of the books I included? Did you see any of your favourites? Or maybe ones you really need to get you? I feel you there.

5 thoughts on “Top 5 (books with buildings or vehicles on the cover) Tuesday”

  1. The mysterious dissapearance’s cover is so pretty!!

    I’d need to check how many I have on my goodread shelf.. as from memory there isn’t any with that type of cover that’s really popping into mind right now 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s